Mamata Banerjee to take oath as CM on may 5


Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee will take oath as the chief minister for a third term on May 5. 


The TMC chief, though, lost from the assembly constituency of Nandigram, from where she pitted herself against her former aide, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Suvendu Adhikari.

After a close contest, which went down to the wire, Adhikari eventually won by 1,956 votes, as per the Election Commission of India (ECI) website.

Banerjee later said she will challenge the result in the Supreme Court even as the ECI rejected the TMC’s petition demanding a recounting in Nandigram.


Overall, the TMC won 213 of the state’s 294 assembly constituencies, with the BJP winning 77. Counting was held for 292 seats, as voting for two seats will take place at a later date.