Former BJP leader Swami Prasad Maurya on Friday joined Samajwadi Party. He was joined in by other ex-BJP MLAs Dharam Singh Saini, Bhagwati Sagar and Vinay Shakya. Akhilesh Yadav was also present at the event. 8 BJP leaders have left BJP ahead of the elections.


BJP rebel MLAs, including Swami Prasad Maurya, Dharam Singh Saini, join Samajwadi Party


Swami Prasad Maurya, former BJP leader and minister in Yogi Adityanath led the Uttar Pradesh cabinet joined Samajwadi Party along with other ex-MLAs Dharam Singh Saini, Bhagwati Sagar, and Vinay Shakya.


The rebel MLAs joined the BJP on Friday, 14/01/2022.


SP chief Akhilesh Yadav was also present during the event.

These MLAs were among 8 BJP leaders who left the saffron party ahead of the elections citing neglect toward the backward classes and Dalit voters.

This apart, former BSP MLA Neeraj Kushawaha Maurya, former BJP MLC Harpal Saini, former BSP MLA Balram Saini, former BJP MLA Rajendra Pratap Singh, former Minister of State Vidrohi Maurya, former Chief Security Officer Padam Singh, and former Congress MLA Bansi Singh Pahadiya also joined the Samajwadi Party on Friday.

Earlier, Maurya lashed out at BJP for playing foul politics after an arrest warrant was issued in his name in an 8-year-old case.